tidbits

5 Jul

ok. so I am still plugging away at the gallery quest that I spoke of last time, I have been a bit distracted with local drama (see post below). But excuses aside I am trying to be more motivated about my photography, its sad really. But I bought a journal which I am writing ideas in and buying photography magazines to stay on top of photographers and news in the art world, now i just need to…SHOOT! Ugh, it’s something I love to do, so why am I having such a hard time getting motivated? Tips, suggestions, advice welcome….please!

A couple things I want to share….

BANKSY BANKSY BANKSY…Man, according to my blog stats I average about 200 posts daily just on my short banksy post….sheesh. I might sneak in a banksy tidbit every post (hehe). But seriously, I googled him again a minute ago and found everyone covering him now, there are t-shirts, forums, blogs devoted to him and his incredible graffitti…. Now Time magazine is claiming a recent picture phone pic has brought fans one step closer to the super anonymous artist’s identity.

  

I got my favorite photo magazines the other day and I have been pouring over them taking alot of notes in my new journal (yeah me). One of the things i am looking into and has been a longtime goal of having my own website featuring my work–I saw an ad for www.artspan.com it seems interesting..I am still looking into it. I want a website but I am not saavy in that area at all and I just want a nice, easy to navigate site that looks professional. Are there others like this around that you guys know of or could suggest??? My eyes and ears are peeled….

One of my regular buys is B&W Magazine, this last issue was the results of their photo contest where they show all the winners and merit winners…I was rather unimpressed. I feel like 75% of the work was “look what I can do in photoshop” it was all technique and no content. Out of the whole magazine I found 6 I was interested in…6!!  Here are two:

Nadia Sablin http://www.nadiasablin.com

Her work in B&W were really nice, mostly of the people of Ukraine. Great portraiture. The work in the magazine were black and white whereas on her website they are color…jury is still out on what is more effective.

Gary Vann http://www.garyvann.com

His work in B&W was incredible…I tried his website and it was undergoing some updating so I couldn’t access it. The one from the magazine I loved was Graffitti Patrol the gentleman standing against the wall is ghostly and quiet, I actually didn’t notice him right away and I love that. Black LightCobb Web Architecture are also nice.

Image(s) of the day are two by Sally Mann, whom I love!! I just saw that a documentry is finally coming out about her.. What Remains, which I promptly added to my Netflix! Review to come! I also added a documentry called Bomb It which is about graffitti art and history….check it out fellow banksters!!

One Response to “tidbits”

  1. -Nash July 5, 2008 at 8:37 pm #

    HiYa!

    I enjoy your blog and I hear ya when it comes to not feeling that much needed motivation to do things sometimes, even the ones we love most!

    Just wanted to drop a line since you mentioned wanting to have a website… that’s what I do for a living! Artspan sounds like a good way to go, though I would recommend doing your own thing and having full control of your website. Meaning hosting it yourself (through a reliable hosting company), and having a custom built website made just for you, that serves all of your needs.

    You mentioned you’ve been thinking about having a website for a while now. If you have any questions let me know, I’d love to assist you with this! Who knows, maybe with a new website up you’ll even recharge with motivation to go out shooting again! 🙂

    -Nash

Leave a Reply

